Greater Des Moines Sister Cities Commission

The Sister Cities Commission was created to foster relationships and to make introductions for economic, educational, and cultural cooperation between Des Moines Metropolitan area and other communities around the globe; and for the coordination of sister city activities.  Ordinance 15,288; Sec. 2-1114

General Requirements

Fifteen members: the Mayor is honorary chair of the commission; the regular chair, vice-chair, and all other elected positions within the commission shall be elected by majority of the commission membership. Ordinance 15,288; Sec. 2-1117

Purpose. Ordinance 15,288, Sec. 2-116

Powers and Duties. Ordinance 15,288, Sec. 2-1118

Professional Requirements

Representatives from Clive and West Des Moines (seats 16 and 17) have been deleted per the City Manager's Office as of November 4, 2013. City of Cumming was added on June 9, 2014, by Roll Call No. 14-0905. City of Norwalk was added on June 24, 2017, by Roll Call No. 17-1233.  Ordinance 15,288

Membership Term Information

Five years

Term Limits

Term limits apply to City of Des Moines representatives. Member city representatives are not subject to term limits. 

Term Expiration

April 28

Meeting Information


Meeting Frequency

Second Tuesday of each month

Meeting Time

5:00 PM

Meeting Location

Richard Clark Municipal Services Center / Floor:  First Floor - Room: MacRae Conference Room
1551 E. Martin Luther King, Jr. Parkway
Des Moines, Iowa 50317

City Staff

Joyce Warburton 515-283-4507