Transportation Safety Committee



Additional Links


General Requirements

Ten voting members, eight of the members shall be appointed by the City Council. One member shall be appointed by each Council Member with two members appointed by the Mayor. One member shall be appointed by the Superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District to represent the interest of the schools citywide. Another Member shall be appointed by DART to represent the interest of transit Citywide. The term of office of the appointed members shall be staggered terms of three years. Expiration of all terms of appointed members shall be December 31. Each member of the City Counil may recommend a candidate to fill one position on the board. Notwithstanding Section 2-1059 regarding term limits, members may be reappointed for a third or consecutive term. Ordinance15,528, Roll Call 16-1923- November 7, 2016. Any of the two members nominated by the Mayor who cease to hold the qualifications for appointment to the seat they hold on the transportation safety committee shall cease to be a member

Professional Requirements

Board name and seat criteria changed 17-1103 6/26/2017 Board Members may serve up to 3 consecutive terms. A majority of the members serving on the committee shall constitute a quorum.

Membership Term Information

Three years - may serve 3 consecutive terms

Term Limits

Term limits do not apply

Term Expiration

December 31

Meeting Information


Meeting Frequency

Second Tuesday of each month

Meeting Time

7:30 AM

Meeting Location

Richard Clark Municipal Services Center
Floor 1st Floor North End - Room: MacRae
1551 E. Martin Luther King Jr. Parkway
Des Moines, Iowa 50317

City Staff

Jeff Wiggins, 515-283-4973